Why

don’t people dress up to go to the theater anymore?

The Place: The Ordway

The Show: Cabaret

The predominate attire: jeans in various states of disrepair and flip-flops.

Jigga Wha??!!

Oh HELL no

I understand when it comes to “Theater of Social Unrest” or underground stuff. Even matinees can get a bye, but an 8pm show at the Ordway does not equal jeans and flip-flops for crimeny sakes!

There were a few (besides myself of course) that hit the nail on the head or at least gave an effort. To those people, you know who you are, I thank you.

I don’t know what it is about the American Casual Affect that drives me so bonky but it does. It strikes me as arrogant, entitled, and lazy. 

Where’s the effort? Where’s the joy? Where’s the sewing kit?

A change is coming, I’m sure. I mean look at how us Crafter/DIYer/Knitter people are taking things into our own hands again. Effort is beginning to be rewarded and cherished again. And for that, I thank you.

And I say, its about dang time.

~ by duncks on May 8, 2008.

2 Responses to “Why”

  1. I so agree with you. I am perpetually disappointed by the way people dress in public, particularly the way some of the shoppers at major retailers dress. Nothing says “high class” at Target like a woman in pajama pants, slippers, curlers, and a scarf, wearing sunglasses and shouting into her phone like its a tin can on a string to make an earnest shopper like myself want to buy the mega-pack of toilet-paper on sale for $12.99.

  2. […] already knew where she fell on this.  In fact, she devoted a blog entry to informality in dress at the theatre not even a month […]

Leave a Reply

 
