Tween Threesome Completion

Number 2 in a series has been completed.

This one went even more smoothly than the toddler version.

Mind you, the ease had nothing to do with the pattern as this was as flawless as the first. It is because I learned some valuable knitting lessons during this project.

1) My guage is tighter when doing color work. I don’t think it is tremendously too tight. Nothing that a lil stretching/blocking/big heading will take care of but it sure does make for a funny looking profile. (sans head)

See the way the sides taper in? That is not supposed to happen but I have a feeling that it is pretty common of an occurrence. I didn’t put it on my XL head for fear of stretching it to tarnation.

2) I prefer circular needles to DPNs. I knit much more quickly, efficiently and neatly. So glad that I found my size 5 16″ circulars. So so glad.

3) Frogging can be your friend. Don’t fear the frog.

I made a slight boo-boo during the color work section. Instead of ripping it back when I realized the error (forgot to alternate one silly stitch) I just recreated the error at the end of the round. Once I finished the entire 7 row passage, I noticed that I missed two entire rows in the pattern! ACK! If I were knitting this for myself I would have just added two more of something else so the size would be unaffected but this is a Test Knit.

I promised.

Swore.

Signed a contract that I would knit the pattern AS IT WAS WRITTEN.

So. I took a deep breath pulled out the needles and went for it. Gotta love a forgiving yarn. Now everything is perfect. The lil boo boo and the ginormous one.

Frogging is your friend.

4) When frogging color work watch for tangling.

Yarn Ramen is NOT your friend.

One hour and a snip of the scissors later and it was workable. Not all better per se but enough to allow me to finish. Now I have to attack the still misbehaving yellow yarn. sigh

5) Knitting is essential at the doctor’s office, especially with an unexpected two hour wait and two hours worth of bus rides.

6) When doing color work on the bus, don’t just have your yarn laying will nilly in you bag. See yarn ramen reference above.

And here is the complete hat.

I just love the swirl on the top!

Cute, I know!! Loves it!!

And now on the the final hat (in white)

~ by duncks on March 17, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
