Knitting Scouts

I was a Brownie for approximately 3 weeks. All was going well until the day of the Christmas party. My father and I drove up to the location and no one was there. The doors were locked.

I never went back.

To this day, I have no idea what happened. I just remember being soooo excited with my little present for the exchange in my hands. I remember being crushed and disappointed when I realized that there was no one there. I can still see the inside of my fathers serial killer van. I can still see the brick building.

Hmmm. I wonder if that may be where my incessant, OCD detail checking came from.

When I was in high school, my best friend and I joined The Explorers. They were a group of kids from around the county that were interested in Exploring the medical arts. We went to the first meeting. Drank little cans of sodas. Got hit on by some weird yuppie from a rich school. Toured the Hospital and signed our registration forms. I was excited when my id card came in the mail. Never thought I would be a Boy Scout. LOL It seems the Explorers were a division of the Boy Scouts. I never pass up an opportunity to tell people that I was a boy scout.

Even though I never went back.

I can’t say that I am not a big joiner. That would be a lie. I love to join.

I just never go back.

But now, I have found the perfect Scout organization for me.

I shall become a Knitting Scout!

In fact, I already qualify for a badge.

The “Proselytize Knitting” Badge

I knit on the bus. At lunch. In the car. At my desk.

I talk about knitting to anyone and everyone that will listen.

I tell them “if I can do it, so can you”.

I have even inspired some old knitters to pick their sticks back up.

More importantly, I have created a new knitter!!

I’m beginning to see why the Jehovah Witness’ do it.

Next:

I also qualify for

The “MacGyver” Badge (Level One)

The use of a non-knitting item in a knitting situation.

My knitting convert and I were discussing how to Purl. I did not have any accessible needles on which to show her this new stitch so out came the mechanical pencils. All is well in the world.

Next…

The “MacGyver” Badge (Level Two)

The use of knitting tools in a non knitting situation.

One day during lunch, I realized that I needed to go to the bathroom immediately. There was no possibility of making it back to my office. I needed “feminine supplies” NOW. I hoofed it to the nearest bathroom, pulled out my only quarter and dropped it into the slot. Turned the dial and got

Nothing.

The quarter was stuck.

ACK!!

Fortunately, I have a quick mind and a set of DPNs. I pried the quarter out of the slot with my size 7’s and promptly put it in the other slot.

Voila! Menstrual emergency solved by knitting!!

God, I love me.

As of this moment, that is all I have earned but I know I will keep on keeping on.

I think the “Drunken Knitting” badge should be next. That would make for a fun project.

~ by duncks on March 16, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
